Honest Kachaje

I was born and raised in Malawi, central east Africa. I am the last born in a family of 6 boys. By God’s grace, my parents are saved and quite active in the local church that I was brought up in, the Church of Central African Presbyterian (C.C.A.P). I first heard about the Gospel in my home, but I would say it wasn't until around the age of 12 that I recognized I was a sinner in need of God’s mercy. Prior to that, I thought my status with God was okay based on my parent’s faith. I was full of self-righteousness because generally I was deemed as a “good child.” But by God’s grace, I was convicted of my sins and became aware that it is only those who receive Christ, those who believe in his name, who are given the right to become the children of God. A friend of mine invited me to Proclamation sometime in September 2019, and the Christ-centered preaching, the worship through singing, and the warm hospitality that I got on my first day of visit compelled me to stay, and make Proclamation my local church. I have the privilege of sharing the gospel and encouraging my friends (primarily from Malawi) in God’s Word. Consequently, I have a growing desire to learn God’s Word and to be mentored by other godly men, so that I may faithfully serve our Lord. The internship will offer me an opportunity to exercise gifts like preaching. Hence, I hope to grow through the constructive feedback that I may eventually get after teaching/preaching/exhorting. It also offers me the privilege to be mentored by our pastors and elders more closely, which is quite a blessing. One interesting fact about myself is that my favorite color keeps changing.